Media Releases

2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000

President S R Nathan Celebrates Be Yourself Day with Students Who Dare to Make A Difference - The New Paper Be Yourself Day is in support of President’ss Challenge 2006

Singapore, 29 August 2006 - From 24 schools in 2002 to 88 this year. Yes, The New Paper Be Yourself Day is gaining increasing support from schools all over Singapore.

So far 34 schools have already celebrated TNP Be Yourself Day and raised a total of $51,130.65 this year.

Another 35 schools will be celebrating TNP Be Yourself Day on Thursday, 31 August with the rest organising their events in September and October.

The day sees students coming school dressed in their creative best to express their individual personalities. It is an occasion when teachers and principals get to see their students from a different perspective. Students, while enjoying their creative freedom, will also spend some time thinking of those less fortunate than themselves.

Since its inception, TNP Be Yourself Day has been a fund-raising event for President’s Challenge, an annual charity event that benefits 49 charities.

This is the seventh year The New Paper is involved in raising funds for President’s Challenge wiith more than $400,000 raised so far.

President S R Nathan will grace this year’s TNP Be Yourself Day celebrations at Temasek Secondary School and Wellington Primary on Thursday, 31 August.

(Please refer to attached Press Advisory for media coverage of this event on 31 August).

List of 88 participating schools in The New Paper Be Yourself Day 2006:

Admiralty Secondary School Kuo Chuan Presbyterian Primary School
Ang Mo Kio Secondary School Lianhua Primary School
Anglo Chinese School Junior Maha Bodhi School
Balestier Hill Primary School Manjusri Secondary School
Bartley Secondary School Mayflower Primary School
Beatty Secondary School Meridian Junior College
Bedok View Secondary Meridian Primary School
Bendemeer Primary School Methodist Girls’ School (primary)
Bendemeer Secondary School Methodist Girls’ School (secondary)
Broadrick Secondary School Millenia Institute
Bukit Batok Secondary School Monfort Secondary School
Bukit Panjang Primary School Nan Hua Primary School
Bukit View Primary School National Junior College
Bukit View Secondary School Naval Base Primary School
Canossa Convent Primary School Northbrooks Secondary School
Casuarina Primary School Northland Primary School
ChestNut Drive Secondary School Park View Primary School
CHIJ (Toa Payoh) Primary School Poi Ching School
CHIJ Katong Primary Punggol Primary School
CHIJ Our Lady of the Nativity Radin Mas Primary School
CHIJ St Joseph’s Convent River Valley Primary School
Chong Zheng Primary School San Yu Adventist School
Clementi Primary School Si Ling Primary School
Clementi Town Secondary Singapore Chinese Girls School
Commonwealth Secondary School St Anthony’s Canossian Primary School
Da Qiao Primary School St Anthony’s Primary School
Damai Primary School St Margaret’s Primary School
De La Salle School Tanjong Katong Primary School
East Spring Primary School Teck Whye Secondary School
Elias Park Primary School Telok Kurau Secondary School
Evergreen Sec School Temasek Junior College
Fengshan Primary School Temasek Primary School
Fengshan Primary School Temasek Secondary School
Greenridge Secondary School Wellington Primary School
Greenwood Primary School West Spring Secondary School
Haig Girls’ School White Sands Primary School
Henderson Secondary School Woodlands Secondary School
Holy Innocents’ High School Xishan Primary School
Hong Kah Primary School Yio Chu Kang Primary School
Huamin Primary School Yishun Primary School
Jin Tai Primary School Young Talents Childcare and Development Centre
Jin Tai Secondary School Yuan Ching Secondary
Kent Ridge Secondary School Zhenghua Primary School
Kranji Secondary School Zhonghua Secondary School


Issued by Singapore Press Holdings Limited
Co. Regn. No: 198402868E

For more information, please contact:

Ms Chok Huey Jiuan
Assistant Promotions Manager
Promotions & Events
Marketing Division
Tel: 6319 1518
Fax: 6319 8183
Mobile: 9049 6509

About Singapore Press Holdings Limited
Main board listed Singapore Press Holdings Limited is the leading media company in Singapore, in the print, Internet and broadcasting platforms. It publishes 14 newspapers in the four official languages, including Singapore’s first free Chinese newspaper, My Paper, and over 80 magazine titles. Everyday, 2.7 million individuals, or 83 per cent of the people above 15 years old, read one of the SPH publications. Its Internet Business Unit manages the online editions of SPH’s major newspapers, which enjoy over 100 million pageviews from 6 million unique visitors every month. More recent online additions are the classified website, ST701, and STOMP (Straits Times Online Mobile Print), a portal that connects, engages and interacts with readers on the Internet and via mobile messaging.

SPH also owns a 20% stake in MediaCorp TV Holdings Pte Ltd, which operates free-to-air channels 5, 8, U and TV Mobile, and a 40% stake in MediaCorp Press Pte Ltd, which publishes free sheet Today. SPH has a 70% stake in UnionWorks, which operates two entertainment radio channels, Radio 100.3 in Chinese and Radio 91.3 in English. In addition, SPH holds an 80% stake in SPH MediaBoxOffice Pte Ltd, Singapore´s largest LED network media company, and a 35% stake in TOM Outdoor Media Group, a leading outdoor advertising company in China.